SaluteScout
Browse guides

U-Haul says it does not have an official military discount, but it offers conditional military-moving benefits, including storage options. That is not a zero-percent discount or a statement that all military-related benefits are unavailable.

Uhaul Military Discount

Official Status and Two Storage Paths

The main military entry describes storage with a qualifying one-way rental. A separate official article describes a DD Form 2278 route even without that rental. Keep both conditions visible. Checked 2026-09-15.

What the official answer establishes

The General FAQ says U-Haul does not have an official military discount and points readers toward ways to save on a personally procured move (PPM), also called a DITY move. The Military Move article also says there is no specific military discount.

This review did not establish a nationwide military percentage or a reusable military coupon code. The answer is not rewritten as a numerical discount, a permanent policy promise or a denial of every local promotion. Does U-Haul offer a military discount?; checked 2026-09-15. Does U-Haul Offer a Military Discount?; checked 2026-09-15.

Compare the two storage paths

Storage pathRequired condition and benefitWhereBoundaryOfficial location and review date
Main military entryOne month of free storage; the footnote requires a one-way truck or trailer rental.Destination.U-Haul and participating affiliate locations, as stated in the footnote.1 Month of Free Storage; footnote; checked 2026-09-15.
Official project articleMay qualify for a first month of U-Box or traditional storage even without a one-way truck or trailer rental by showing DD Form 2278.Origin or destination.Confirm the applicable option and availability with U-Haul; the article does not specify a uniform upload or checkout checkpoint.How to Get One Month Free Storage; checked 2026-09-15.

The main entry says service members are eligible for a month at the destination, with the one-way rental condition in its footnote. The article separately describes the form-based path. They are not combined into unconditional free storage at any place or for any traveler. A month is not converted into an invented day count or cash value.

How to check the applicable storage benefit

  1. Open the official military entry and its linked project article.
  2. If using a one-way truck or trailer rental, check the destination storage option and participating-location condition from the main entry.
  3. If relying on the article's alternative path, ask about the U-Box or traditional storage first-month benefit and show DD Form 2278, the Do-It-Yourself Move and Counseling Checklist.
  4. Confirm the chosen path with U-Haul before committing to storage. A complete uniform online redemption process was not established in the reviewed pages.

Ways to Save and storage footnote; checked 2026-09-15. How to Get One Month Free Storage; checked 2026-09-15.

Other savings are separate benefits

U-Box furniture pads: the military entry says every U-Box container reservation includes 24 free furniture pads. It also describes returning unused U-Box containers for a full refund so customers pay for what they need. These are reservation inclusions and unused-container conditions, not a military percentage off a move. Free Furniture Pads; checked 2026-09-15.

Boxes and shipping: the entry describes lower prices for bulk box purchases and returning unused boxes with a receipt. The article describes a full refund for unused boxes. The military entry says free shipping on orders over $100 (checked 2026-09-15), not orders exactly at that threshold. This guide does not turn the threshold into a military fare or a universal shipping-policy conclusion. Low-Cost Moving Supplies; checked 2026-09-15. Moving Supplies; checked 2026-09-15.

Self-storage deposit: the project article describes self-storage as requiring no deposit. This is its self-storage statement, not a guarantee that every rental product has no deposit or other charge. Self-Storage; checked 2026-09-15.

Eligibility and documents have separate roles

The main entry introduces active-duty service members and their families, while the storage section uses the broader wording service members. It does not individually enumerate Reserve, National Guard, retired and veteran eligibility for every listed benefit. This guide neither expands those categories nor declares them all ineligible.

The form-based storage path requires showing DD Form 2278. The official article does not name a single upload portal or exact checkout stage. Ordinary rental-driver-license verification is a different process and is not used here as military-benefit verification.

The main checklist says to have PCS orders, apply for a PPM with the transportation office, complete applicable forms, retain rental receipts and weight tickets, and notify U-Haul in advance for U-Box origin weight tickets. Pre-Move, Moving and Post-Move Checklists; checked 2026-09-15. Form-based storage paragraph; checked 2026-09-15.

Government reimbursement is not a merchant discount

The main checklist directs travelers to submit receipts and applicable claims to their transportation office. This guide does not promise a reimbursement amount, a net gain or that all costs will be refunded. Government PPM reimbursement is not U-Haul's direct discount or refund obligation.

A blank relocation form linked from another audited page is not a worked example. Its older cost-computation fields or conditions are not adopted here as current reimbursement policy. Post-Move Checklist; checked 2026-09-15.

Local storage promotions do not establish a national truck rate

Official location listings may display their own military storage promotions. A reviewed location listing illustrates that separate scope; it does not create a nationwide truck discount. Conversely, the national FAQ statement should not be expanded into a claim that no location can have an offer. Location promotions; checked 2026-09-15. Military-discount FAQ; checked 2026-09-15.

Official findings and external claims

What the official pages establishWhat external pages claim
Program
U-Haul states it does not have an official military discount, while describing conditional moving and storage benefits. This is not a permanent refusal or a statement that no military-related benefits exist.
U-Haul official source; U-Haul official source; Military-discount FAQ; Does U-Haul Offer a Military Discount?; checked 2026-09-15.
External pages claim an offer.
Rate
No national military percentage or general military code was established. Do not substitute a zero-percent rate. Free storage, U-Box inclusions, ordinary starting prices and location offers are different things.
U-Haul official source; U-Haul official source; Military FAQ; Ways to Save; checked 2026-09-15.
External pages claim an offer.
Channels
Official pages link to online rates, reservations and storage move-in. Matching-condition website, phone and counter military price differences were not confirmed. Ordinary App rental/driver-license verification is not proof of military-benefit verification.
U-Haul official source; U-Haul official source; U-Haul official source; Rental FAQ; rate links; self-storage description; checked 2026-09-15.
External pages claim an offer.
Eligibility
The military entry introduces active-duty members and families; its storage section says service members. Separate Reserve, Guard, retired and veteran applicability for each benefit is not enumerated there. Keep the one-way-rental and DD Form 2278 storage conditions separate.
U-Haul official source; U-Haul official source; Introduction; storage body/footnote; How to Get One Month Free Storage; checked 2026-09-15.
External pages claim an offer.
Combining benefits
Complete stacking rules for the specific military-moving storage benefit were not confirmed. Multiple benefits appearing together do not prove they all combine. Government PPM reimbursement is not a U-Haul discount or refund guarantee.
U-Haul official source; U-Haul official source; Ways to Save; moving and post-move checklists; storage article; checked 2026-09-15.
External pages claim an offer.
Verification stage
For the article storage route, show DD Form 2278. A uniform upload portal or exact checkout stage is not specified. Keep receipts and weight tickets; notify U-Haul in advance for U-Box origin weight tickets. Ordinary rental license requirements remain separate.
U-Haul official source; U-Haul official source; Moving Checklist; How to Get One Month Free Storage; checked 2026-09-15.
External pages claim an offer.

Local self-reports and outside coupon claims do not fill a national military-rate field. Complete stacking rules remain unconfirmed; a list of benefits does not prove that all benefits combine.

Ask about your military move

The official military-moving entry provides [email protected] for questions. Use the brand's official rate and reservation links to check your actual move; no route-specific quote was obtained for this guide. Have Questions?; checked 2026-09-15.

The entry also states that its photos do not imply or constitute Department of Defense endorsement. This guide does not present the program as an endorsement by that department. Bottom-of-page photo disclaimer; checked 2026-09-15.

Download the official-field checklist

Download the official six-field CSV with source sections, review dates and unconfirmed fields.

Official sources and numerical references · Full English text · Information-addition review

The resource compares the two official storage paths with the no-discount statement. An audited competing page already links a downloadable relocation form, so this guide does not claim all competitors lack downloadable material. Uninspected infographics do not support claims that conversions are absent.

Frequently asked questions

Does no official military discount mean no moving benefits?

No. The FAQ and project pages describe conditional storage and other savings separately. The national answer is not a zero-percent rate or a permanent refusal.

Is a one-way rental required for both storage paths?

The main entry footnote requires it for that path. The project article separately describes showing DD Form 2278 to access a storage benefit even without a one-way truck or trailer rental.

Do the furniture pads make this a military percentage discount?

No. The official entry describes pads included with every U-Box reservation; it does not express them as a military percentage reduction.

Can this guide tell me my government reimbursement?

No. It does not determine reimbursement or promise that every cost is refunded. Follow the applicable transportation-office process and retain the required records.

Does U-Haul publish an official veterans discount?

U-Haul says it does not have an official military discount. A U-Haul veterans discount inquiry should keep the conditional storage and moving benefits separate from an official discount program.

Review methods and dates

Reviewed 2026-09-15. Browser navigation repeatedly timed out, so official public text was read through web-text retrieval. This is not represented as successful browser access to those pages. Error pages are not policy evidence.

Dedicated offer start and end dates were not established in the reviewed material. That does not mean permanent validity. Article dates, starting prices and equipment counts are not worked conversions or dated price comparisons. No starting-price quote, percentage, savings or reimbursement amount is invented.