No. REI does not currently offer an individual military discount. Checked September 14, 2026.
REI Military Discount: The Official Answer
REI doesn’t offer individual discounts for military or healthcare workers at this time.
Official answer: Help Center, Payment & Gift Cards → Trouble using coupon, opening answer paragraph. Checked September 14, 2026.
Organization purchases are separate. The same answer points organizations using military or government funds toward REI Corporate & Group Sales. Availability is conditional, not a personal military benefit.
How to check: reopen the official answer; organizational buyers can use the group-sales contact page. These are separate routes.
Official evidence and external claims
The right column only records whether external pages make a claim. It does not verify that claim or supply a price, rate or code. The review date below is September 14, 2026.
| What the official pages establish | What external pages claim |
|---|---|
| Personal offer: REI currently says it does not provide individual military discounts. Military-discount answer, opening paragraph. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a personal military discount exists. |
| Personal military rate: no rate is published in that answer. This guide calculates no military price. Military-discount answer, complete answer block. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a military percentage discount exists. |
| Personal military code: none is supplied in the checked answer. Not found does not establish that a code never existed. Military-discount answer, complete answer block. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a military checkout code exists. |
| Family eligibility: personal military-family eligibility is not published in the checked answer. Its organizational route is separate. Military-discount answer, personal and organizational paragraphs. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a military-family discount exists. |
| Personal online or store redemption: no personal military redemption procedure is supplied in the checked answer. Military-discount answer, complete answer block. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim online military redemption exists. |
| Full-price military savings: no personal military offer is established for full-price merchandise by the answer. Military-discount answer, opening paragraph. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim military savings on full-price items exist. |
| History and military-only events: the checked answer does not mention a past personal offer or a military-only event. Not mentioned does not mean never offered. Military-discount answer, complete answer block. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim military appreciation events exist. |
| Organizational route: the FAQ mentions a possible fixed discount for organizations using military or government funds. The linked program page describes volume sales. These are separate official statements. Military-discount answer, organizational paragraph; Corporate & Group Sales, introduction. Checked 2026-09-14. | An organizational-discount claim was not verified in the reviewed external pages. |
| Ordinary savings: the answer points members to REI deals and promotions; these are not personal military benefits. Military-discount answer, member-offers paragraph. Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim member coupons and sale offers exist. |
Missing details above are limited to the official material checked. An absence finding is not proof that the information does not exist elsewhere. REI's current answer does not announce a permanent policy or promise a future offer.
Corporate & Group Sales is an organizational route
The program is named REI Corporate & Group Sales. REI's group-sales introduction identifies “businesses, organizations and government agencies” as the audience for “volume discounts on most items.” The military FAQ separately identifies organizations using military or government funds. A personal military ID is not stated as a substitute for organizational purchasing.
Who handles it: REI publishes a dedicated group-sales contact page. A named program manager or individual decision-maker is not stated in that page. Its Placing a Bulk Order section directs buyers to preview products, contact the listed sales email or phone, or visit an REI store. Use the official program page for those contact details. Checked 2026-09-14.
Rate, minimum order and approval: a numerical discount schedule and minimum qualifying order are Unconfirmed in the checked program page. Not found does not mean that no minimum or other qualification exists. Request the terms for the organization's actual order; do not use a personal military percentage from an external page.
Ordinary membership and promotions
REI lists a one-time membership fee of USD 30.00 (checked 2026-09-14). Its annual Co-op Member Reward is typically 10% of eligible purchases, but is not guaranteed. This is an ordinary membership benefit, not an individual military discount or an instant price reduction. Source: membership fee block and “How do I earn a Co-op Member Reward?” FAQ, checked 2026-09-14.
The membership FAQ excludes Outlet, sale, clearance and discounted items from that annual reward. Those are the exclusions relevant to the sale examples below, not a complete reproduction of every exclusion. Source: reward-eligibility paragraph, checked 2026-09-14.
REI's ordinary promotions page lists separate offers and conditions. Its offer dates belong to those promotions; they do not establish a past or upcoming personal military discount. Checked 2026-09-14.
Dated ordinary-member scenario versus observed sale price
R is the product page's displayed comparison/reference amount. P is its displayed sale price. The reference amount is not treated as a currently purchasable full-price offer. For the ordinary-member scenario only, assume an eligible full-price purchase of R that earns the typical annual reward. Whether these specific products can currently be bought as qualifying full-price purchases is Unconfirmed.
The reward is conditional and not guaranteed. The actual sale/Outlet purchase does not qualify for this annual reward under the checked membership exclusions. We do not subtract a member reward from P. A separately priced member-only offer for these products is Unconfirmed. This comparison includes no military-discount calculation.
Formulas: markdown = R − P; hypothetical annual reward = round(R × 0.10, two decimal places); conditional remainder = R − hypothetical reward. Rounding is our arithmetic convention, not a verified checkout rule. The conditional remainder is not the amount charged at checkout. Membership fees, taxes and shipping are outside this arithmetic. Rate input: the ordinary member-reward FAQ, checked 2026-09-14.
| Official product and price source | Displayed reference R | Observed ordinary sale P | Computed markdown R − P | Hypothetical ordinary annual reward | Conditional remainder, not checkout price | Actual sale reward eligibility | Unconfirmed details | Condition |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smartwool Run Targeted Cushion Brushed Print Low Ankle Socks - Women's Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 19.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 13.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 1.90 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 17.10 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: Unconfirmed. Extra member checkout discount: Unconfirmed. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |
| HOKA Clifton 10 Road-Running Shoes - Women's Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 155.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 124.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 30.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 15.50 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 139.50 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: Unconfirmed. Extra member checkout discount: Unconfirmed. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |
| Smartwool Run Zero Cushion Low Ankle Socks Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 18.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 12.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 1.80 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 16.20 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: Unconfirmed. Extra member checkout discount: Unconfirmed. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |
| prAna Stretch Zion Field Pants - Men's Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 98.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 49.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 48.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 9.80 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 88.20 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: Unconfirmed. Extra member checkout discount: Unconfirmed. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |
Using the HOKA reference amount solely for the conditional full-price member scenario, the listed sale is USD 14.77 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) below the scenario's remainder. The calculation uses USD 155.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) − USD 15.50 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) − USD 124.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14). This is conditional arithmetic, not a military price or guaranteed member saving. Official price inputs and ordinary reward conditions.
Unit conversion and a worked comparison
The official U.S. Mint dollar page, opening paragraph defines USD 1 as 100 cents (checked 2026-09-14). That is a currency-unit definition, not a merchant discount rule.
For the Smartwool Run Targeted Cushion socks, USD 19.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) minus USD 13.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) gives a reference-to-sale difference of USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14). Converting that difference gives USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) × 100 cents per USD = 527 cents (calculated 2026-09-14). This is an ordinary price comparison and unit conversion, not a military price. Official price inputs: main purchase panel.
The ordinary reward rate converts as 10 ÷ 100 = 0.10. The rate comes from the REI membership FAQ, checked 2026-09-14; dividing a percentage by a hundred is a mathematical definition. It does not make a sale purchase reward-eligible.
Download the dated evidence
Download the workbook or download the CSV table. Both preserve the dates, official sources, formulas and unconfirmed fields.
Numerical sources and calculation inputs · Complete English article · Sentence comparison audit.
Unlike the Academy clarification, which covers a retained seasonal offer that is not running, this guide separates REI's no-personal-discount answer from organizational purchasing. The worksheet compares ordinary shopping scenarios only.
Frequently asked question
Is REI’s veterans discount available to individual shoppers?
REI's reviewed answer says it does not currently offer an individual military discount, so it does not establish a personal veterans discount. Corporate & Group Sales is a separate, conditional route for organizational purchases.