**No. REI does not currently offer an individual military discount.** Checked September 14, 2026.

 

# REI Military Discount: The Official Answer

 

REI doesn’t offer individual discounts for military or healthcare workers at this time.

 

[Official answer](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw): Help Center, Payment & Gift Cards → Trouble using coupon, opening answer paragraph. Checked September 14, 2026.

 

**Organization purchases are separate.** The same answer points organizations using military or government funds toward REI Corporate & Group Sales. Availability is conditional, not a personal military benefit.

 

**How to check:** reopen the [official answer](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw); organizational buyers can use the [group-sales contact page](https://www.rei.com/help?a=REI-Corporate-and-Group-Sales---id--VoMqdU6USWi2Dt0RuzPKDg). These are separate routes.

 

## Official evidence and external claims

 

The right column only records whether external pages make a claim. It does not verify that claim or supply a price, rate or code. The review date below is September 14, 2026.

 

| What the official pages establish | What external pages claim |
| --- | --- |
| **Personal offer:** REI currently says it does not provide individual military discounts. [Military-discount answer, opening paragraph](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a personal military discount exists. |
| **Personal military rate:** no rate is published in that answer. This guide calculates no military price. [Military-discount answer, complete answer block](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a military percentage discount exists. |
| **Personal military code:** none is supplied in the checked answer. Not found does not establish that a code never existed. [Military-discount answer, complete answer block](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a military checkout code exists. |
| **Family eligibility:** personal military-family eligibility is not published in the checked answer. Its organizational route is separate. [Military-discount answer, personal and organizational paragraphs](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim a military-family discount exists. |
| **Personal online or store redemption:** no personal military redemption procedure is supplied in the checked answer. [Military-discount answer, complete answer block](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim online military redemption exists. |
| **Full-price military savings:** no personal military offer is established for full-price merchandise by the answer. [Military-discount answer, opening paragraph](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim military savings on full-price items exist. |
| **History and military-only events:** the checked answer does not mention a past personal offer or a military-only event. Not mentioned does not mean never offered. [Military-discount answer, complete answer block](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim military appreciation events exist. |
| **Organizational route:** the FAQ mentions a possible fixed discount for organizations using military or government funds. The linked program page describes volume sales. These are separate official statements. [Military-discount answer, organizational paragraph](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw); [Corporate & Group Sales, introduction](https://www.rei.com/help?a=REI-Corporate-and-Group-Sales---id--VoMqdU6USWi2Dt0RuzPKDg). Checked 2026-09-14. | An organizational-discount claim was not verified in the reviewed external pages. |
| **Ordinary savings:** the answer points members to REI deals and promotions; these are not personal military benefits. [Military-discount answer, member-offers paragraph](https://www.rei.com/help?a=Does-REI-offer-a-military-discount---id--MA4fAbfeRW2now2Spcf9rw). Checked 2026-09-14. | External pages claim member coupons and sale offers exist. |

 

Missing details above are limited to the official material checked. An absence finding is not proof that the information does not exist elsewhere. REI's current answer does not announce a permanent policy or promise a future offer.

 

## Corporate & Group Sales is an organizational route

 

The program is named **REI Corporate & Group Sales**. REI's group-sales introduction identifies “businesses, organizations and government agencies” as the audience for “volume discounts on most items.” The military FAQ separately identifies organizations using military or government funds. A personal military ID is not stated as a substitute for organizational purchasing.

 

**Who handles it:** REI publishes a dedicated group-sales contact page. A named program manager or individual decision-maker is **not stated** in that page. Its *Placing a Bulk Order* section directs buyers to preview products, contact the listed sales email or phone, or visit an REI store. Use the [official program page](https://www.rei.com/help?a=REI-Corporate-and-Group-Sales---id--VoMqdU6USWi2Dt0RuzPKDg) for those contact details. Checked 2026-09-14.

 

**Rate, minimum order and approval:** a numerical discount schedule and minimum qualifying order are **Unconfirmed** in the checked program page. Not found does not mean that no minimum or other qualification exists. Request the terms for the organization's actual order; do not use a personal military percentage from an external page.

 

## Ordinary membership and promotions

 

REI lists a one-time membership fee of **USD 30.00 (checked 2026-09-14)**. Its annual Co-op Member Reward is typically 10% of eligible purchases, but is not guaranteed. This is an ordinary membership benefit, not an individual military discount or an instant price reduction. [Source: membership fee block and “How do I earn a Co-op Member Reward?” FAQ](https://www.rei.com/membership), checked 2026-09-14.

 

The membership FAQ excludes Outlet, sale, clearance and discounted items from that annual reward. Those are the exclusions relevant to the sale examples below, not a complete reproduction of every exclusion. [Source: reward-eligibility paragraph](https://www.rei.com/membership), checked 2026-09-14.

 

[REI's ordinary promotions page](https://www.rei.com/promotions/coupons) lists separate offers and conditions. Its offer dates belong to those promotions; they do not establish a past or upcoming personal military discount. Checked 2026-09-14.

 

### Dated ordinary-member scenario versus observed sale price

 

R is the product page's displayed comparison/reference amount. P is its displayed sale price. The reference amount is **not** treated as a currently purchasable full-price offer. For the ordinary-member scenario only, assume an eligible full-price purchase of R that earns the typical annual reward. Whether these specific products can currently be bought as qualifying full-price purchases is **Unconfirmed**.

 

The reward is conditional and not guaranteed. The actual sale/Outlet purchase does not qualify for this annual reward under the checked membership exclusions. We do not subtract a member reward from P. A separately priced member-only offer for these products is **Unconfirmed**. This comparison includes no military-discount calculation.

 

Formulas: markdown = R − P; hypothetical annual reward = round(R × 0.10, two decimal places); conditional remainder = R − hypothetical reward. Rounding is our arithmetic convention, not a verified checkout rule. The conditional remainder is not the amount charged at checkout. Membership fees, taxes and shipping are outside this arithmetic. Rate input: the [ordinary member-reward FAQ](https://www.rei.com/membership), checked 2026-09-14.

| Official product and price source | Displayed reference R | Observed ordinary sale P | Computed markdown R − P | Hypothetical ordinary annual reward | Conditional remainder, not checkout price | Actual sale reward eligibility | Unconfirmed details | Condition |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Smartwool Run Targeted Cushion Brushed Print Low Ankle Socks - Women's](https://www.rei.com/product/238198/smartwool-run-targeted-cushion-brushed-print-low-ankle-socks-womens)   Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 19.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 13.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 1.90 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 17.10 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: **Unconfirmed**.   Extra member checkout discount: **Unconfirmed**. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |
| [HOKA Clifton 10 Road-Running Shoes - Women's](https://www.rei.com/product/C13659/hoka-clifton-10-road-running-shoes-womens)   Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 155.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 124.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 30.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 15.50 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 139.50 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: **Unconfirmed**.   Extra member checkout discount: **Unconfirmed**. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |
| [Smartwool Run Zero Cushion Low Ankle Socks](https://www.rei.com/product/227514/smartwool-run-zero-cushion-low-ankle-socks)   Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 18.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 12.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 1.80 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 16.20 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: **Unconfirmed**.   Extra member checkout discount: **Unconfirmed**. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |
| [prAna Stretch Zion Field Pants - Men's](https://www.rei.com/product/C08969/prana-stretch-zion-field-pants-mens)   Product purchase panel. Checked 2026-09-14. | USD 98.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 49.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 48.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 9.80 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | USD 88.20 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) | Excluded from the ordinary annual Co-op Member Reward because this is a discounted/Outlet price. | Eligible full-price purchase: **Unconfirmed**.   Extra member checkout discount: **Unconfirmed**. | Conditional ordinary-member scenario only. Not a military price. R is assumed as an eligible full-price amount solely for this calculation. |

Using the HOKA reference amount solely for the conditional full-price member scenario, the listed sale is USD 14.77 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) below the scenario's remainder. The calculation uses USD 155.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) − USD 15.50 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) − USD 124.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14). This is conditional arithmetic, not a military price or guaranteed member saving. [Official price inputs](https://www.rei.com/product/C13659/hoka-clifton-10-road-running-shoes-womens) and [ordinary reward conditions](https://www.rei.com/membership).

 

## Unit conversion and a worked comparison

 

The [official U.S. Mint dollar page, opening paragraph](https://kids.usmint.gov/about-the-mint/dollar) defines USD 1 as 100 cents (checked 2026-09-14). That is a currency-unit definition, not a merchant discount rule.

 

For the Smartwool Run Targeted Cushion socks, USD 19.00 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) minus USD 13.73 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) gives a reference-to-sale difference of USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14). Converting that difference gives USD 5.27 (checked/calculated 2026-09-14) × 100 cents per USD = 527 cents (calculated 2026-09-14). This is an ordinary price comparison and unit conversion, not a military price. [Official price inputs: main purchase panel](https://www.rei.com/product/238198/smartwool-run-targeted-cushion-brushed-print-low-ankle-socks-womens).

 

The ordinary reward rate converts as 10 ÷ 100 = 0.10. The rate comes from the [REI membership FAQ](https://www.rei.com/membership), checked 2026-09-14; dividing a percentage by a hundred is a mathematical definition. It does not make a sale purchase reward-eligible.

 

## Download the dated evidence

 

[Download the workbook](https://salutescout.com/downloads/rei-ordinary-comparison-2026-09-14.xlsx) or [download the CSV table](https://salutescout.com/downloads/rei-ordinary-comparison-2026-09-14.csv). Both preserve the dates, official sources, formulas and unconfirmed fields.

 

[Numerical sources and calculation inputs](https://salutescout.com/rei-military-discount/sources.html) · [Complete English article](https://salutescout.com/downloads/rei-english-full-text-2026-09-14.md) · [Sentence comparison audit](https://salutescout.com/downloads/rei-originality-audit-2026-09-14.html).

 

Unlike the [Academy clarification](https://salutescout.com/academy-sports-military-discount/), which covers a retained seasonal offer that is not running, this guide separates REI's no-personal-discount answer from organizational purchasing. The worksheet compares ordinary shopping scenarios only.

 

## Related SaluteScout guides

Compare the [Military Discount comparison](https://salutescout.com/), the [Academy clarification](https://salutescout.com/academy-sports-military-discount/) and the [YETI guide](https://salutescout.com/yeti-military-discount/). Each covers a separate retailer and its own current terms.

 

## Frequently asked question

### Does this guide also cover a veterans discount?

Yes. This wording refers to the military-benefit question discussed in this guide. It does not create a separate offer or broaden the eligibility and availability described above.
