State Farm Military Discount: State Rules, Bases and Review Dates
State Farm lists a Military Personnel Discount in Louisiana, but that brand-page section does not publish a percentage, calculation base or coverage breakdown. Louisiana law separately requires a 25% reduction on specified liability-related premiums for qualifying military personnel. Kentucky also has a military qualification route within a defensive-driving course discount. A uniform nationwide State Farm military percentage was not verified. Use the state and source that apply to your policy; do not substitute an ordinary discount percentage.
Sources checked September 22, 2026; published September 22, 2026. No purchase or eligibility verification was performed.
Military-related evidence by state and source
| State and source | Military percentage | Calculation base | Coverage scope | Eligibility, limits and channel | Review date and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Louisiana — State Farm Military Personnel Discount | Unknown: no percentage published in that section | Unknown: the page says premiums may be reduced without defining the eligible premium | Auto-insurance page; qualifying coverage components not specified | Named insured or registered vehicle owner; active duty or the page’s active-reservist wording for Louisiana Air/Army National Guard; complete the Louisiana military-discount application. | Reviewed September 22, 2026. No fixed offer start or expiry published in the reviewed text. State Farm Louisiana |
| Louisiana — statutory rule, separate from the brand page | 25% under R.S. 22:1482(A) | Premium for the components in §9511(A), including stated fixed/variable expenses and policy fees | Bodily-injury/property-damage liability, medical payments and uninsured-motorist coverage; not a whole-policy or comprehensive/collision reduction | Applies to authorized insurers and qualifying Louisiana-based military categories, with state policy-purchase and vehicle-ownership conditions. See the separate eligibility explanation below. | Reviewed September 22, 2026. Latest listed amendment effective January 1, 2025; not expiry. Current statute; Calculation rule §9511(A) |
| Kentucky — military route within Defensive Driving Course Discount | Unknown: no percentage published for that route | Unknown: no premium calculation base published for that route | Auto-insurance page; qualifying coverage components not specified | Principal driver of any age who is a U.S. Armed Forces member; military-provided defensive-driving course completed within the past five years; completion certificate presented to State Farm. | Reviewed September 22, 2026. Five years is a course-recency condition, not an offer expiry. State Farm Kentucky |
| Missouri — reviewed State Farm discount list | Military-specific percentage not confirmed | Military-specific base unknown | Military-specific coverage scope unknown | No dedicated military entry was confirmed in the reviewed list and expanded program text. This is a page-level finding, not a rejection of every applicant. | Reviewed September 22, 2026. No fixed offer start or expiry published in the reviewed text. State Farm Missouri |
| General State Farm auto pages — nationwide scope not established | Uniform military percentage not confirmed | Nationwide military calculation base unknown | Nationwide military coverage scope unknown | Ordinary discount programs and general advice about military/occupation savings do not establish State Farm military terms in every state. | Reviewed September 22, 2026. No fixed offer start or expiry published in the reviewed text. Auto-discount overview; General savings article |
What State Farm’s Louisiana military section actually says
The expanded Military Personnel Discount section names the policy’s named insured or a vehicle’s registered owner. It says premiums may be reduced for active-duty military or an active reservist in the Louisiana Air or Army National Guard, with completion of the Louisiana military-discount application.
That section supplies neither a percentage nor a breakdown of covered premium components. It does not publish a complete exclusion list or fixed offer dates. Those fields remain unknown in the State Farm row. The state page’s other program percentages are not used to fill them.
The Louisiana statute is a separate primary source with its own scope and qualifying categories. Its broader legal language is not rewritten as if State Farm’s paragraph contained it.
Read the State Farm Louisiana section. Reviewed September 22, 2026.
Louisiana’s legal requirement applies across authorized insurers
R.S. 22:1482(A) requires every authorized motor-vehicle insurer in Louisiana to provide the specified discount to active-duty military, military reservists, Louisiana Air National Guard and Louisiana Army National Guard personnel based in the state, under its policy-purchase and vehicle-ownership conditions. This is not a State Farm-only coupon.
Regulation 81 §9511(A) defines the calculation using bodily-injury and property-damage liability, medical payments and uninsured-motorist premiums, including the stated expenses and policy fees. The regulation also describes prorating interim policy changes. Comprehensive, collision and an assumed entire bill are not substituted for that defined base.
Ask the insurer to identify the eligible components on your policy. No personalized State Farm quote, policy filing or eligibility decision was obtained for this review.
Read the current statute; Read the published calculation rule. Reviewed September 22, 2026.
Veterans, retired personnel and the separate tax-credit clause
The law’s mandatory-discount list and insurer-tax-credit list are different. Section B also names retired military and veterans with disability of at least 50%. LDI describes benefits for these additional groups as voluntary insurer offerings.
State Farm’s participation in that voluntary route for a particular veteran, company or policy was not established in the reviewed pages. The tax credit is for the insurer; it is not an additional payment to the applicant. Veteran status alone is not used here to promise a percentage or to declare a denial.
Statute Sections A and B; LDI’s mandatory and voluntary eligibility explanation. Reviewed September 22, 2026.
The Louisiana application and dates need their own source
The State Farm page tells eligible applicants to complete the Louisiana military-discount application. LDI’s August 4, 2026 announcement links the state form and says active-duty personnel and reservists provide current orders showing a Louisiana duty assignment; Louisiana Guard members provide a commander’s letter on official unit letterhead. Submit the form and evidence through the insurer or agent.
LDI describes a one-time application process. Its August 3 Bulletin 2026-11 calls the Regulation 81 amendment proposed/in process and retains exceptions for a new policy or reasonable eligibility concerns. The published November 2020 regulation still contains renewal re-execution language. The announcement, bulletin and older rule are kept separately dated; a final amended regulation was not verified.
LDI announcement and application link; Bulletin 2026-11; Published Regulation 81. Reviewed September 22, 2026.
Kentucky: a course qualification, not a published military percentage
State Farm’s Kentucky defensive-driving section extends course-discount eligibility to a principal driver of any age who is a U.S. Armed Forces member and completed a defensive-driving course provided by the Armed Forces within the past five years. A completion certificate must be presented to State Farm.
The section does not state the military route’s percentage, premium base or affected coverage components. The course condition does not supply those missing fields. Nor is this route treated as a nationwide military-status discount.
Louisiana has a separate defensive-driving course section with its own conditions. Those requirements are not transferred to Kentucky or to Louisiana’s Military Personnel Discount.
Read the expanded Kentucky course section. Reviewed September 22, 2026.
What the other brand pages do and do not confirm
The Missouri page reviewed lists ordinary driving, vehicle and policy programs. Its missing dedicated military entry is not proof that every military applicant is refused. The general auto-discount page likewise does not establish one nationwide military percentage.
State Farm’s general savings article discusses military and occupation-based savings with certain insurers. That general statement is not a complete State Farm offer. A percentage attached to Drive Safe & Save, student savings, multiple vehicles or another ordinary program is not counted as a military percentage.
The source-specific unknown fields remain unknown even if a third-party article supplies a more confident answer. No claim here describes the entire search-results landscape or every State Farm state program.
Missouri list; General auto discounts; Savings article. Reviewed September 22, 2026.
What to confirm on your State Farm policy
- Identify the state, underwriting company, insurance product and applicable service category.
- Ask which named program or legal requirement applies to your policy.
- Request the actual percentage, each eligible premium component, exclusions and permitted combinations in the quote.
- Provide the required application or course certificate through the official insurer or agent route.
- Confirm the policy period and effective date separately from an article-update or source-review date.
Use the official state page’s agent or quote entry. No form, quote, identity check or policy change was submitted for this guide.
Calculate only after the rate and base are confirmed
The reduction is r × P only when the actual applicable rate r and eligible premium P are known for the same period. The State Farm Louisiana and Kentucky sections do not supply both inputs, so no dollar saving is calculated from those paragraphs.
For an established Louisiana statutory entitlement, use 0.25 × L, where L is the qualifying premium base under §9511(A), with the stated expenses and fees. Do not replace it with an assumed whole-policy total or apply the percentage again to an already-discounted quote.
The same percentage does not mean the same saving. Compare the final premium with identical coverages, limits, deductibles, vehicles, drivers and policy periods. A price change caused by removing coverage is a separate change in protection.
A review date is not a policy start or offer expiry
Every row above is labeled with the September 22, 2026 source-review date. Where the brand page does not publish a military-offer start or end date, the field remains unknown.
The Kentucky five-year course window is an eligibility condition. January 1, 2025 is the latest amendment effective date listed with the Louisiana statute. November 2020 identifies the published regulation version, and August 3–4, 2026 identifies the bulletin and announcement. None is borrowed as a nationwide military-offer expiry.
The general savings article’s June 23, 2025 date is its article date. It does not date the military programs in this guide.