SaluteScout

Houston Zoo Military Discount — Sources and Search Audit

The Houston Zoo's official pages give separate daytime-admission, Zoo Lights, and membership terms. Five substantive result bodies were readable; third-party claims remain separate.

Google sample and official page bodies checked September 24, 2026; published September 24, 2026. No purchase or eligibility verification was performed.

The ten-result sample keeps original ranks and unreadable pages

The query was houston zoo military discount with hl=en, gl=us, and pws=0, searched September 24, 2026 in the signed-in Chrome. The bare Google page showed nine organic results. Google Web view (udm=14) showed ten; its first nine URLs matched the bare page in the same order, and the official Houston Zoo blog supplied rank ten. Ads, AI Overview, videos, and People also ask were excluded. Google's footer showed “Unknown — Can't determine location”; the query parameters remained hl=en&gl=us.

Rank 2's official ticket store was offline when opened. Ranks 4 and 8 remained unreadable after two opens; rank 7 returned HTTP 403 after two opens; rank 9 redirected to Facebook login after two opens. Those original ranks and URLs remain Unknown. Five readable substantive bodies remain at ranks 1, 3, 5, 6, and 10.

Rank and resultMilitary percentageBase / limitsClaim routeOffer-valid periodOpened-body note
1. Prices and Discounts - The Houston ZooYesYesYesYesOfficial page's expanded U.S. Military Discounts panel: U.S. veterans and active military receive 50% off general-admission tickets for up to five guests (2 adults and 3 children) all year long; reservation required and proof of service must be shown when presenting tickets.
2. Houston Zoo Web Store :: Ticket SelectionUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownOfficial ticket-store URL opened, but the page displayed 'This store is not currently online.' No ticket products or offer terms loaded; do not use its Google snippet.
3. Welcome to the Zoo! - The Houston ZooYesYesYesNoReadable official page with an expanded FAQ: military receives 50% off the adult ticket price at time of purchase, limit 5; online reservations are required and military identification must be shown with the ticket at admission. No offer validity period is stated.
4. Houston Zoo Military Discount - Military.comUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown after two Chrome opens; net::ERR_HTTP2_PROTOCOL_ERROR.
5. Houston Zoo Veteran Discount - TexVetYesYesYesYesReadable third-party listing repeats 50% off general-admission tickets for up to five guests (2 adults and 3 children) all year long, with reservation and proof of service required at admission.
6. Become a Houston Zoo MemberNoYesYesNoReadable official membership page FAQ: military, veterans, educators, and first responders receive an unspecified special discount on membership purchases; contact membership@houstonzoo.org in advance with proof of employment/service; not available online or on previous purchases.
7. Houston Zoo Veterans Discount - RedditUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown after two Chrome opens; Reddit returned HTTP 403.
8. Houston Zoo Military Discounts - Military.comUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown after two Chrome opens; net::ERR_HTTP2_PROTOCOL_ERROR.
9. Houston Zoo Veterans Day Facebook postUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown after two opens; Facebook redirected to login and did not expose the post body.
10. What you didn't know you needed to know - The Houston ZooNoNoNoNoReadable official blog dated April 23, 2024. It points readers to a general 'Types of Discounts' page but does not state a military rate, base, eligibility terms, claim route, or policy dates.

Among five readable substantive bodies: 3/5 state a military percentage; 4/5 state a military-offer base or limit; 4/5 show a claim route; and 2/5 state an offer period (“all year” on the official Prices page and TexVet). Rank 10 is an article dated April 23, 2024; that article date does not count as an offer-valid date. These counts are limited to this sample.

Official admission, Zoo Lights, and membership sources stay separate

Opened sourceWhat its body statesBase and limitsRoute and date scope
Official Prices and DiscountsActive military and U.S. veterans: 50% off general admission for up to five guests (2 adults and 3 children), all year long.Reservation required; proof of service at admission. Its stated base is general-admission tickets; no total is calculated.Page read September 24, 2026; no specific start/end dates stated.
Official Welcome page FAQ50% off adult ticket price at time of purchase, limit five.Online reservation required; show military identification with ticket at admission.No military-offer period stated; no savings total calculated.
Official daytime ticket storeStore displayed 'This store is not currently online'; no products or terms were visible.Unknown; no snippet-derived price or restriction used.Read September 24, 2026; store-offer validity unknown.
Official membership FAQMilitary/veteran membership-purchase discount; amount not stated.Proof of service/employment; not online or retroactive.Email membership@houstonzoo.org in advance; no discount-validity dates stated.
Official Zoo Lights ticket store10% off event admission for military; the page lists Military Admission at $20.95.Up to five tickets; proof at entry; no stacking; limit five/order. Relation of $20.95 to 10% and calculation base unknown.Event ticket store; page does not name the season year or specific dates.
Official 2024 Zoo Lights article10% off Zoo Lights admission for military throughout that season, up to five tickets.Seasonal event only; not year-round admission.Published November 26, 2024; article says event ran through January 5, 2025.
TexVet third-party listingRepeats 50% off general admission up to five guests, all year.Reservation and proof of service; third-party copy, not a substitute for Zoo terms.Page read September 24, 2026; no separate offer start/end date stated.

Military.com, Reddit, and the Houston Zoo Facebook post were not readable in Chrome; their search-result snippets are not used as page-body evidence. The official general ticket store displayed an offline notice. The separately opened Zoo Lights store and 2024-25 article are event-ticket sources, not proof of a permanent daytime-admission rate.

Return to the guide